Amazon Contextual Product Ads

Sunday, December 25, 2011

"Finding Grace"

'Finding Grace' by Sara Pawley is the sequel to "Oh that I Had Wings'. The first book focuses on the brother Jack and the second book focuses on Grace Langdon. Grace is a 17 year old growing up in Stones Mill Virginia during the late 1920's. The town has not adapted to the changing world around it. Grace is the only girl in a family of five brothers and John Langdon aka'Jack' is her favorite. He makes her feel important in an era where only males are worthy. Grace is a strong-willed unmarried young lady who cares less what others say about her marital status. Strong-willed females have no place in the Langdon home where the male rules. The women are expected to marry and be homemakers.

Grace is determine to follow her own path instead of the typical path much to the chagrin of her parents. Her constant companion is her heroine Jane Eyre which she turns to for hope. Like her heroine, she believes marriage should be for love. Leisure time is very little in the Langdon household and getting caught reading would not be met with acceptance. Charlie Hillard, a man she knew in childhood, enters her life once again. Her parents try forcing her into marrying him but she refuses. She stands up to her stern father who doesn't react well to her rebellion. This causes her to run away to Chicago and go live with her brother.

Chicago is fascinating for Grace. Many things are unfamiliar to her like bathtubs and buses but she soon settles in. She finds herself infatuated with a friend of her brother, Henry, and she isn't sure how to react. Henry is years older than her but they are soon embroiled in a romance. Events happen that really test her courage and show her spunk. The story is interesting, clean romance capturing the essence of the roaring 20's. Unfortunately, this kind of control represented by Grace's parents is still rampant today. How can any mother stand by while her daughter is knocked around? Grace is truly is an amazing character ahead of her time.

Monday, December 19, 2011

"Beauty, Health, and Happiness"

Where to buy: www.lilyorganics.com

The book “Beauty, Health and Happiness” really appeals to me. It contains a lot of great information about how to feel good about yourself, which is so important for your overall well-being. It includes a section on how to lead a happier life, which I think everybody can profit from. You also learn about how to look and feel years younger with nutrition tips for healthy looking skin. Also included are recipes for making your own beauty and skin care products. Learn how to use various different essential oils and herbs in your day-to-day skin care for beautiful and young looking skin. The book also benefits from an introduction to alternative health and beauty and what it means. And I am sure that you also want to hear about beauty secrets that have been around for hundreds of years?

In my opinion, this book is a great read. Not only will it teach you how to lead a happier and more fulfilled life, but it also shows you ways to rejuvenate your body and how to create your own skin care products for youthful looking skin.

This book would make a lovely and well-appreciated gift for any of your special women friends in your life.

Monday, December 12, 2011

New Year New You

Whenever you're attempting to deduct a few additional pounds in the new year, two new books might assist. Hints and recipes, likewise as proven weight-loss strategies, may help you achieve your destination weight promptly.

The lo-carb vogue is complete and people are recognizing that what the experts have been telling all along is truthful: The sole path to reduce and hold it away is to curve calories and start workout. "Low-Calorie Dieting For Dummies" (Wiley, $21.99) by nutrition expert Susan McQuillan is a direct guide that indicates readers how to eat less calories than they burn and offers a delectable and secure low-calorie plan that's easy enough to follow for life. The book includes tools to better eating and work out habits, cope with tension and boredom, evaluate advancement and live a heartier, more cheerful life.

For 5,000 years, yoga workouts have been applied to get in shape. Adding weights offers a different property that's researched in "Yoga With Weights For Dummies" (Wiley, $21.99). All the physiological benefits of conventional yoga-muscle strengthening, balance and flexibility-come quicker since yoga with weights is stronger and spectacular than usual yoga. The book separates exercises into various assorted workouts and provides expert hints to help you win.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

"QuiverFul: Inside the Christian Patriarchy Movement"

"Quiverfull:Inside the Christian Patriarchy Movement" by Kathryn Joyce takes an up close look at an extreme pro-natalist ideology called Quiverfull. In this movement, adherents shun all birth control, even natural family planning, leaving the number of kids in God's hands. Children are to be accepted as God's gifts regardless of finances or mental and physical health. Chemical birth control is considered an abortificant though no evidence finds any truth to these claims. The practice is taken from Psals127;3 "Lo , children are heritage of the Lord. Blessed is he who hath a quiver full." read the rest here

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

"Duggars:20 and Counting"

"The Duggars:20 and Counting" book is about the reality TV family from TLC's "19 Kids and Counting.". The series focuses n the lives of a devout Christian family with 19 children whose names all start with "j". I had never heard of the Duggars until the birth of the 17th child. I'm not a big fan of reality TV but I couldn't stop watching them. They had already made several special including " 14 Kids and pregnant Again" How does a family that size manage?

"The Duggars:20 and Counting" explains just that. It was published before the arrival of the 18th child. I recently had the pleasure of reading a copy. The reader goes on a journey from their humble beginning to who they are today. There is much ground covered in 244 pages. The Duggars share life lessons, recipes, personal stories, and answer viewer emails. A list of resources in included in the back of the book.
Continue reading

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Debt Cures

Debt Cures: A Review

'Debt Cures They Don't Want You To Know About' is a book by Kevin Trudeau released May 2008 which claims to blast the hat off the finance industry. It is a follow up to his 2007 book, 'Natural Cures They Don't Want You To Know About' which exposed the pharmaceutical industry and medical practitioners for covering the fact that there are elementary natural treatments for many conditions that are just as efficient as prescriptions, but 'they' (the medical administration) are perpetually driving us into getting dependent on pharmaceutical company products.

'Debt Cures' follows the same sort of pattern in claiming that the banks and other finance institutions are virtually ganging collectively in a conspiracy to drive the population deeper and deeper into debt so that they can make profit from all of the interest that we owe.

This is an magnetic idea for many people who are in debt since it takes the fault securely away from our shoulders and sets it on the charge card and loan companies. It's not your mistake - you were almost pushed into the helix of debt that you find yourself in. That is Kevin Trudeau's debate, anyway.

We grow up accepting that it is normal, natural and even sensible to be in debt. Maybe in some examples it is. Take mortgages for instance. Your parents and grandparents may have admonished you about living within your means, but did they ever indicate you shouldn't take out a mortgage because you would be getting into debt? I doubt it.

For most people, a mortgage is a very beneficial financial proposal. It frequently works out cheaper than paying rent, at least after the first few years, and at the conclusion of the time you own the home. It's almost a no brainer, if you have the earnings to afford it.

The trouble is that most of us do not understand the difference between taking out a loan to purchase an asset that will increase in value, like a home or maybe a business, and acquiring credit for things that will never again be worth what we paid for them. That includes automobiles, furniture and all the trivial things that we put on our credit cards.

When you move into debt, banks will propose you more cards and loans until the point where it gets almost out of the question to pay. Then they rip the carpet out from under your feet. No more loans, your cards all of a sudden don't work, and the credit score system makes a point that all of the other finance companies immediately know that you are a bad risk. That's where the conspiracy thought comes in.
Finally though, we could say that it doesn't actually matter whose flaw it is. If we are in debt then nobody is going to help us get out, that's for certain. For sure not unless we pay them for their advice.

'Debt Cures' is a little repetitious in places, but it commits you a few good ideas for bringing down your debt and even eradicating parts of it. There are domains for internet sites where you will be able to pick up free reports on how to cut down different types of debt. Some of the maneuvers he advises are not feasible in every situation but you should discover some tips in there for contending with all types of debt.

There are more comprehensive debt management books out there but this one is uncomplicated to read and excellent for anyone who doesn't know where to begin. If you have not begun tackling your debt yet, 'Debt Cures' by Kevin Trudeau should give you some ideas that could rapidly help you save much more than the buy price.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Crochet for Dummies

Crocheting for Dummies Crocheting for Dummies is a great resource for the first-time crotcheter or the crotcheter looking to expand their skills. Crocheting is a great productive tension alleviating spare-time activity and with this book you will discover all the methods you need to make this craft a part of your life. It will show you how to choose the correct tools, create basic stitches, and finish off your work. Crocheting for Dummies supplies the reader with easy-to-follow directions on what to do with your hook and yarn. While it teaches in context of projects, it is great way for the novice to learn and make at that same time. With this book you will get very valuable instruments for learning.Here is a list of some of the things you learn:• Learning about different stitches and how to work with them• How to crochet in a circle• How to work with different colors• How to create an Afghan• How to decode crochet patterns, symbols, and diagrams• Learn how to create pot holders, a table runner, scarves, a hat, a vest, sweaters, pillowcases and more. If you are looking for one book that shows it all, then this is the book for you. Forget about paying for a class. For one low price you will be able to have all the directions you need from the solace of your own home with this comprehensive instructional book. With Crocheting for Dummies as your personal guide, you will be able to learn to make beautiful creations that people will jabber about.

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Fit Over 40

Fit Over 40 Review
Fit over 40 is an work out plan and internet site that provides hints for those over 40 to remain fit and healthy. The e-book that you are shipped contains top insider hints that are supposed to help you slim down and will also strengthen your muscles so that you appear in better form.

Turning 40 is no excuse to exercise less, and do not feel that you are stuck with any extra pounds that you are carrying forever. 40 is not old, you will be able to still accomplish big levels of physical fitness and remain appearing great for years and years to come.

The programme is entirely free and will teach you all that you need to assure that you accomplish and remain at your peak level of fitness.
The site creator is Jon Benson who himself lost 70 pounds in surplus weight and now carries himself with absolute pride. He has rounded up all the hints that he used to help him make this marvellous transfer, and is extending them to internet site visitors free. He does not charge a single cent for all the top tips that are out there.

Included when you order is your e-book entitled ’10 Pounds (Snap!) Like That!’ and two free presents. These presents remain a mystery until you order but are worth a whopping 180 dollars in total and so are well worth ordering for nothing.
To help you stay in track you will also be signed up to the site’s e-zine which is send on a regular basis by e-mail and keeps readers informed of all the latest developments.

Jon Benson has penned a book, also entitled ‘fit over 40’ and by registering you receive the first chapter free. If you like it then obviously you can order the book to read more about how to remain in shape like Jon himself.
There is no obligation to purchase, and as the information is all free you will not be charged anything to learn how to be fit and your fighting best.
On Fit Over 40 there are testimonials to show the plan really works, as well as a picture of Jon himself which proves just the extent of transfer that he has undergone.

Being fit over 40 does not have to be difficult. You will be able to get in better shape that you have ever been earlier, and by adopting the advice shipped to you in the e-book you will be able to dramatically shrink the amount of body fat that you have in 10 days.

Fitover40.com may hold the solutions that you need. Do not despair if you are becoming older and vigorous training seems to be too hard. Just follow the guidelines sent to you utterly free and you will be able to feel better and more positive very fast.
Good for both men and women, this could be your chance to get yourself in the shape you have always dreamed of.
Click Here!

Fix t and Forget It Cookbook

A number of cookbooks in these modern times are lengthy on shine and dazzle , and short on sound recipes that we are able to immediately have confidence in and really like .

New York Times best-selling author Phyllis Pellman Good provides us dishes containing components we currently have available or can certainly buy-recipes that can be simple , dependable all of which help make our households happy .

Good's series of slow-cooker cookbooks , "Fix-It and Forget-It ," sold greater than 6 million versions ! At the moment , her cutting edge "Fix-It and Enjoy-It ! Cookbook" ( Good Books , $15 .95 ) provides people supplementary tried-and-true , welcome-home dishes for stovetop as well as range baking .

An accumulation of greater than 675 recipes presented by do-it-yourself chefs from around the nation , the "Fix-It and Enjoy-It ! Cookbook" offers delicious offerings such as "10-Minute Meatloaf" and "Frozen Mocha Cheesecake ." Every meal contains its prep as well as baking times .

Here's an appetizer recipe gathered from the brand-new book :


Cheese and Shrimp Strudel

Creates 16-18 cuts


1 half of a 17 .25-ounce packet ( 1 sheet ) chilled puff pastry , thawed

11/2 cups ( 6 ounces ) shredded Swiss cheese

1/2 cup sour cream

1/4 cup thinly cut up green onion

1 cup ( 4 ounces ) prepared shrimp , chopped , or 4 .5 ounces canned shrimp , rinsed , drained and chopped

1 egg , beaten


On a mildly floured area , roll the thawed puff pastry to a 10" x 18" rectangle .

Set rectangle of pastry on a casually greased , big cooking sheet .

Friday, November 11, 2011

Home Remedies

Regrettably sickness is a part of living, and anyone who says they have never ached from anything is either lying or very, very lucky. We likely spend hundreds every year on drugs to help us feel better or diverse other remedies, but homemademedicine.com teaches you some of the most efficient cures around, and ones that can be made by the things you purchase each week.

Without doubt you have all kind of things overloading your kitchen cupboards, a few that have been untouched for ages and are just taking up room. Well you can clean a place right at once by discarding all of the headache tablets, laxatives and suchlike that you keep in there, because home remedies can be just as, or more, efficient than any drugs out there. More inexpensive and with less gamble of side effects, if you learnt which foods to use and what you are able to consume to help combat diverse ailments then you could be feeling healthier in next to no time.

The creator of homemademedicine.com is Charles Silverman, who has himself tried out out many herbal remedies and home medicines in reports and clinical test*. This volume includes all the cures that he has discovered to function and really assist people to get over sicknesses faster than western medication can. Consider this from his website:

“Example: Did you know that if every woman in the United States would get just one nutrient every day breast cancer rates would drop 50 Percent?
Example: Did you know that you can make a natural laxative that works many times better for constipation than any over the counter laxatives? Just eat four prunes twice a day and you will have the most effective and gentlest remedy for constipation.

Example: Did you know that 6 cherries have the same effect as 1 aspirin? Plus cherries are filled with antioxidants!”
These are just 3 of the numerous remedies that are available in his book, and that you can begin testing now.
Many people do not like the reliance that they have to have on prescription drug. But the problem is, it is a monumental industry and people are not going to promote household remedies unless there is something in it for them. The pharmaceutical company* want people to use their products that they have spent a long time working on. But the reality is that homemade remedies can work and, if you know what to use, you will hardly have to rely on drugs again.

This volume is fundamentally an encyclopaedia that people can use to look up fast cures. Home remedies can be just as quick as drugs, even the fast acting ones, and there will be no need for certain pills ever again.

You will learn not only remedies but also skincare treatments so you may even be able to save on all the washes and emollients that you fork out for every week.
The new second version of this ebook is available for just below 40 dollars and comes with 5 free gifts such as a natural cookbook e-book.

There is a 60 day money back guarantee if you are not pleased which means that if you examine the cures and they do not work then you will be able to get your money back: wonderful.
Examine a copy today to determine if options to drugs really work.
Click Here!

Saturday, November 5, 2011

Flat Belly Cookbook

Everything Flat Belly Cookbook
Where to purchase: www.amazon.com

The risks of belly fat are well known and range from diabetes to hypertension. Slimming down around your midsection is very hard. The Everything Flat Belly Cookbook has 300 recipes to help you to lose your body fat and tone your abdominals.

The writers of the cookbook are Fitz Koehler, a long-familiar health consultant and fitness expert, and Mabelissa Acevedo, a certified nutritionist. Collectively they have made strategic meal plans, abdominals exercises and recipes that will get you in shape, drop off the belly fat and tone your abdomen.

Illustrations of the easy to make and yummy recipes are:

* Apple Strawberry Crumble
* Fitz’s Low-Fat Cheesecake
* Low-Fat Alfredo Sauce
* Chicken Burrito
* Citrus Crunch Pork Chops
* French “Fried” Carrot Sticks
* Sweet Crusted Chicken Salad
* And many more

This cookbook gives you great recipes and advice on how to better your general health, feel great, do away with those extra pounds and love life.

Go to www.amazon.com for more information.

AP Style Book

When you write, you likely find yourself grappling with questions. I for certain do, everything from the suitable form of abbreviations to the placement of apostrophes. Ideally, you would like to get past those questions rapidly, so you'll be able to center on the subject matter, not the writing.

Among the tools that helps us resolve questions speedily and consistently are stylebooks: those manuals that commend certain styles or usage. They come in a number of flavors and you may wish to have all of them on hand. But, more significantly, select one and use its recommendations consistently.

This week we look at the Associated Press Stylebook, a useful and frequently-cited reference work for authors.

As the title indicates, it comes from the people at the Associated Press (AP) news agency, and serves journalists and mass-media writers. By way contrast, the Chicago Manual of Style (to cite another significant reference book) serves academics et al who write formally, as well as book writers, editors, and publishers.

The AP Stylebook accentuates usage of generally referenced names, events, and language. For instance, under the listing for assassin, it explains the suitable employment of three similar concepts: 'assassin,' 'killer,' and 'murderer' (in case you were wondering, the AP book specifies an assassin as a politically motivated killer, a killer as anyone who kills with any motive, and a murderer as a killer who has been convicted in a court of law).

Since journalists must deal with the pressure of deadlines, this book is presented like a dictionary, with the entries in alphabetical order. Each entry is brief and deals with issues that journalists would confront in everyday writing.

Many entries offer a standard for capitalization, spelling, use of abbreviations, and other valuable information. Rules for grammar can be found under headings such as 'Possessives'.

Incidentally, many other news organizations, in the U.S. and other countries, have their own style guides. In Canada, for example, there's the Canadian Press stylebook. So, if you're writing for a particular wire-service or news organization, check to see if they have their own style guide.

The Associated Press Stylebook comes in two flavors: 'The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law,' and 'The Associated Press Stylebook and Libel Law.' The latter is as readily available as the former. Check your bookstore for details.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Gone with the Wind

"Gone with the Wind" is the only book written by Margaret Mitchell in 1936 that was made into a motion picture in 1939 starring Vivian Leigh. The novel is set in Georgia in the 1860's and centers around a spoiled Southern bell Scarlett O'Hara. She is the wealthy heiress of an Iris immigrant family who live at Tara mansion. Scarlett is 16 at the beginning of the book and 23 at the end. The book describes her a snot very attractive but had a way with the men.

Fort Sumter had been fired upon two days before and one day the men are called to fight in the Civil War. Scarlett learn Ashley Wilkes is engaged to his cousin Melanie Hamilton which breaks her heart. The next day at a barbecue, she declares her love for him and he for her but he Won't marry Scarlett because of their differing personalities. Rhett Butler enters the picture. She tries to get back at Melanie by marrying her brother. She is made a widow at 16 when Charles Hamilton dies from measles and has a son. Tradition says for her to wear black and not talk to men which sends her into a depression.

More events follow. She moves in with Melanie and begins keeping herself busy. Scarlett eventually marries Rhett, goes back to Tara, and has three more children. Rhett has a drinking problem and it gets worse when Bonnie is killed from a fall on a horse. Scarlett hold sup better than Rhett. Scarlett and Rhett are survivors to say the least. The heroine finally learns about love. However, it got criticized because of the racism but is still popular today. One can learn much about history.

Saturday, October 29, 2011

The Lion, the Witch , and the Wardrobe

The idea of “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe"” focuses around four kids, the Pevensie siblings, who become entranced in a land of magic. Going in “Narnia” through a wardrobe— situated in a house where they are rooming — the kids enter a domain where it is all of the time winter, but never Christmas. Under the trance of the White Witch, Narnia is forever in the clasp of wickedness. The domain is occupied by talking animals [beavers, for one], spirits, goblins, sprites, but no individuals. That is until Lucy Pevensie surfaces accompanied by her brother Edmund and, later, Susan and Peter.

Rather apparently the White Witch also known as the Queen of Narnia is most interested in mortals so she resorts to all kinds of magic and hocus-pocus to entice them in. Edmund, the most impressionable of the siblings, is rapidly charmed by the White Witch and then sets out to deceive the others.

Without disclosing the plot line, the subject of Narnia clearly ponders the enslavement of this present world under the Devil, but its past and future rescue through Jesus Christ. In the form of a lion, Aslan, Lewis brings a savior to Narnia who eventually releases the land from its winter grip and vanquishes the White Witch.

For those unacquainted with the gospel message, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe may be difficult to follow. However, Lewis composed the book in 1950 instantly after the horrors of Word War II and with the Nazi air combat for London fresh in the heads of British citizenry. Lewis may have been answering to a solid spiritual hunger of his time when he composed the series as “Narnia” successfully points seekers to Aslan, much as the Bible points readers to Jesus.

I am not certain if I will read the remaining six books in this series, but I am unquestionably interested in searching several other writings of Lewis.

C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and Charles Williams were contemporaries who were a part of a group of authors and intellectuals called The Inklings who gathered during the 1930s and 1940s at a public house in Oxford. Tolkien, like Lewis, used Christian allegory in many of his writings including, The Lord of the Rings, another series of books that was lately published as a major movie.

Distinctly, the regenerated interest in C.S. Lewis’ works is a confident step particularly for a generation of kids not acquainted with the gospel message. Disney, for their part, is interested in formulating the remaining six books of the series into separate movies. So, expect Narniamania – as some have called it – to continue unabated for many years to follow.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Seven Habits of Highly Effective People

If you haven't read "7 Habits" yet, it MAY NOT be time to read it now.

This is considered a modern self-help classic.

There are concepts in this book that are so potent, that even just scanning them (without consciously putting them into action) altered how I live.
For instance, I endlessly found myself likening what was occurring in my life to what I had just read. If someone said an scornful thing to me, my initial tone would be wrath, but on the heels of that idea would come something I'd read in 7 Habits. I'd be thinking, "Hey! That reminds me of when Covey wrote about ___________." And by the time that thought was gone, so was the damaging situation.

Thinking turned a whole lot of play!

Even the first 3 Habits were decent to get me unbelievably excited about interaction with other people. You could live 1000 years and not get up with these concepts on your own.

The 4th habit was my favored. It's called "Seek First to Understand, Then to be Understood". I wish I did this more...now that I'm married! But back then, this assisted me to become a very good "talker". I could talk to people and assist them not "drown for psychological air" around me. People prefer to be understood. If you argue your point all the time, no one feels understood and ideas are harder to be put into action. ANY IDIOT CAN debate! The whole world appears to place a vast importance on argumentation...and being able to destroy other people's viewpoints with your logic and humor.

But that's not strength. Like I said: any moron can debate. Not 1 in 1000 people can actually regard another person's opinion as being the correct one. Even fewer can really stop and say to themselves: "I'm positive that I'm 110% right and that other person is incorrect, but who knows? Maybe I am incorrect. Let me regard their point and listen to what they need to convey."

Now that is genuine strength.

I once shared this concept with an opinionated person. They began hollering at me and alleging I was incorrect and that if you know you're correct, you need to stand up for yourself and prove the other individual is wrong. With a smile on my face, I answered, "Maybe you're correct". LOL! They didn't even pick up on the fact I had just done to them what I was recommending.

It's amazing what occurs to people when you state back to them what you think is the point they're attempting to make. You'll end up beginning a lot of your sentences with: "...so, what you're supposing is....". Once you begin to show the person you're not there to debate, their backs fall; the urging in their voice dips; they settle down; and then they listen to your point without brawling.

As Covey explains, the best means to influence other people is...to be INFLUENCED.

It's such a good book and it's occupied with principles that will help you in all your dealings, but I find you have to be in a position in your life to put it into action. It will work great if you'll be able to practice it daily in a setting as:

-a family member contending with hard situations
-a manager
-a salesperson

...or anyone who needs to deal with people every day. If you feel a strong need to know how to deal with other people more effectively, maybe you're ready for this book now.

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Favorite Emily Dickinson Poetry

It is hard to believe the 1775 poems by Emily Dickinson almost never seen the light of day. An editor thought the rhymes were imperfect and edited them. Dickinson was truly ahead of her time as many women writers were brushed off. She covered many subjects but seemed to prefer death,life, and love.

There came a day - at Summer's full -
Entirely for me -
I thought that such were for the Saints -
Where Resurrections - be -

The sun - as common - went abroad -
The flowers - accustomed - blew,
As if no soul - that solstice passed -
Which maketh all things - new -

The time was scarce profaned - by speech -
The falling of a word
Was needless - as at Sacrament -
The Wardrobe - of our Lord!

Each was to each - the sealed church -
Permitted to commune - this time -
Lest we too awkward show
At Supper of "the Lamb."


Presentiment is that long shadow on the lawn
Indicative that suns go down;
The notice to the startled grass
That darkness is about to pass.

Because I could not stop for Death—
He kindly stopped for me—
The Carriage held but just Ourselves—
And Immortality.

We slowly drove—He knew no haste
And I had put away
My labor and my leisure too,
For His Civility—

We passed the School, where Children strove
At Recess—in the Ring—
We passed the fields of Gazing Grain—
We passed the Setting Sun—

Or rather—He passed Us—
The Dews drew quivering and chill—
For only Gossamer, my Gown—
My Tippet—only Tulle—

We paused before a House that seemed
A Swelling of the Ground—
The Roof was scarcely visible—
The Cornice—in the Ground—

Since then—'tis Centuries—and yet
Feels shorter than the Day
I first surmised the Horses' Heads
Were toward Eternity—

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Wizard of Oz

"the Wizard of Oz" is a classic children' novel written by Frank Baum in 1906. Th story is set in rural Kansas focuses on Dorothy, an orphan girl raised by her Aunt Em and Uncle Henry. Her dog Toto is her constant companion. One day a tornado strikes an Dorothy finds herself in a far away land called OZ inhibited by munchkins. The house landed on the evil ruler, the Wicked Witch of the West.

The munchkin are happy to be free from her rule. Glenda the good witch of the North gives Dorthy pair of silver slipper, which are ruby in the movie. She tells Dorothy she will need to ask the Wizard for help in getting back home. In the meantime, the Wicked Witch of the East vows to get back at Dorothy for killing her sister. Dorothy meets the Tin Man looking for heart, a scarecrow looking for a brain, and a lion looking for courage.

On the journey to Emerald City, the Wicked Witch of the East who is over Winkie country sends all kinds of things to deter them like bees, wolves, and soldiers but they get through them. She attempts to demolish the Tin Man and Scarecrow and sends eh monkeys to capture Dorothy, Toto, and the Lion. The witch tricks Dorothy into giving her the slipper which angers Dorothy. Dorothy throws a bucket of water on her. The water melts the Witch which frees the Winkies from her rule. The Tin Man agrees to be their new leader after he helps Dorothy. Once the find the Wizard, he isn't what they think. The Wizard plans to take them home in a balloon but the rope tears with the Wizard. Dorothy summons the monkeys but they cannot make it over the dessert. Glenda reveals she could have gotten home all along with the slippers.

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Heidi

Heidi is the classic novel set in the Swiss Alps written by Johanna Spryi in 1880. Heidi, whose real name is Aldeheid is a five year old girl sent to live with her grandfather by her Aunt Dete ho has taken care of her since the death of her parents. At first the grumpy grandfather resents her but Heidi manages to soften his rough exterior. Her visit turns delightful. He has been in conflict with the villagers and called Alm Uncle because of his seclusion.

She makes friends with Peter, the goat herder. Three years later, the Aunt comes back for her so she can spend some time with a wealthy disabled girl named Clara Sesemann. Hedi becomes homesick and is at odds with their strict housekeeper. Issues with sleepwalking become concern for her grandfather becuase her mother had epilepsy. the docotr suggests Heidi be taken back home to avoid any more health issues. In the meantime, she teaches Peter how to write and read. The docotr suggest Clara visit Heidi for the summer much to the chagrin of Peter. He feels denied Heidi's attention and pushes her wheelchair don the mountain side. Amazingly, Clara walks without it.

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Romeo and Juliet

"Romeo and Juliet" is the classic play by William Shakespeare about two star-crossed lovers. It has been made into motion pictures, musical,s and adaptations a.all over thew world. Most of us had to read it in high school and perhaps otherwise would not have read it. Not many high school kids are interested in romance literature. Girls will like it more than the boys. The language can be hard to translate but the plot is simple. The play centers on the forbidden romance of Romeo Montague and Juliet Capulet. Romeo is 17 and Juliet is a ripe old 14.

The play is set in Verona, Italy and the opening begins with the Montagues and Capulets have a falling out in the first scene. The play starts with the men of each family meeting on the streets and a fight breaks out. The Prince arrives and states the guilty will be punished if there is anymore fighting. Romeo is upset during the brawl and Benolvio, his cousin, has to find the cause of his sadness. Romeo is in love with a girl names Rosaline who wants to live a life of purity.both young men get invited to the enemy's party by mistake.

After being talked into going by Benolvio, he first lays eyes on Juliet.The fall in love right away unaware of the bitter blood between the families.After identifying themselves, they are disappointed but already in love. The play continues with the famous balcony seen with Juliet saying "Wherefore art thou Romeo?" the two secretly marry without the parent's knowledge. Juliet was to marry a man named Paris when she got older but she will not comply. Friar Lawrence tells her to drink this potion t maker look dead. The plan does not get to Romeo and obviously backfires. The tragedy reunites the two families. Really, you think someone could come up with a better suggestion than playing dead. It should not take a tragedy to correct bitter blood.

Saturday, October 15, 2011

The Scarlet Letter

I haven't read The Scarlet Letter since high school mainly because it was required reading in the 11th grade. Now, I look at things with a different perspective and appreciate the scope. The Scarlett Letter is a classic romance novel by Nathaniel Hawthorne written in 1850 set in Puritan Massachusetts. Hester Prynne was sent ahead to America by her husband while managing business in Europe but later presumed missing or dead.

She had an affair with a church minster by the name of Arthur Dimmsdale. and conceived a child which is not her husband's named Pearl. Of course , this was a big no-no in those days. She wore a red letter A for punishment of adultery. Hester never would tell them who the daddy of Pearl was. The child turns out to be an imp thought to be because of sin. Anything of this nature was the woman's fault and she was ousted by the community. The men received no punishment. It goes to show you the treatment of women in those days.

Friday, October 14, 2011

Elsie Dinsmore

"Elsie Dinsmore' is the first book in a series about an 8 year old girl who struggle with her Christianity. This series was written in the mid-1800's pre civil war era by Martha Finely. The last book was published in 1906.The series has enjoyed a rebirth in Christian circles.I had never heard of these books before until someone mentioned them on a forum. They are in the public domain which can
be downloaded from Project Gutenberg. The series has as many critics as praise.

I just read 'Elsie Dinsmore' on kindle and could see where the critics come from. unless one is into legalism,it won't be appealing. Elsie is the only daughter of the late Elsie Grayson and Horace Dinsmore.In the first few chapters, Elsie awaits
the return of her father. The grandfather and his second wife was left to raise her at Roselands mansion here she attends school with her young aunts and uncles;
Arthur, Walter, Louise, Enna,and Lora, half siblings to Horace.

She tries to win the affections of Horace Dinsore who is cold to her most of the time especially in the beginning. She suffers at the hands of the teasing
by Arthur and the ill treatment from the governess Miss Day. Her only friends seems to be her maid Chloe and Adelaide, Horace's oldest half sister, is rather fond of her. I find her character a bit unrealistic. She chides herself for the slightest infraction and cries on most pages. How many 8 year olds are this pious and concerned for their souls? Nothing really happens in the book. Christian publishers have reissued this series but leave out a great deal of details. Elsie is regarded the paragon saint of virtue but who would want to copy her? It is only interesting for historical value in my opinion. I plan to write a more thorough review.